Anna Nordqvist suffers US Open play-off loss after two-shot penalty

14 Juillet, 2016, 00:19 | Auteur: Ruben Ruiz
  • Lydia Ko goes looking for her ball on the ninth

At the time, Bodenhamer didn't know the position of the two players on 18, only that they had agreed to have the referee notify Nordqvist immediately. In this case, both players in the playoff needed to know at the same time, and that was beyond the USGA's control. Nordqvist's club brushed the sand on the takeaway, which is a no-doubt two-shot penalty, even if there were no intent to breach the rules.

Notwithstanding momentum and logic, disaster inexplicably struck. Just focusing on hitting my shots, and apparently I touched the sand. Lang was leading at 7-under before bogeying the 17th, then missed a lengthy birdie try on the 18th that would've won it outright.

A similar incident occurred in the men's competition last month. The body of the iron is forged and has 11 tungsten weight screws in the back that boosts stability on off-center hits. This was cut and dry.

When Nordqvist was finally notified, she had already hit her shot into the 18th green, meanwhile, Lang was informed of the penalty before her shot into the green and was able to adjust her strategy and play conservatively knowing she had a two-stroke lead.

She didn't find her ball and copped a one shot penalty for her trouble.

Ultimately, she took the high road. The focus on the men's side will shift dramatically this week with a much deeper field of talent making the trip to the Royal Troon Golf Club in Ayrshire, Scotland for the next major event on the year in The Open Championship.

Lamb closed with a 9-under 63 to match Dominic Bozzelli, Rhein Gibson and Cheng Tsung Pan at 19-under 269 on Peek'n Peak's Upper Course.

They say that if you believe it, you can achieve it; 2016 U.S. Women's Open champion Brittany Lang is living proof of that sentiment. Ko shot 75 to drop out of contention, and Nordqvist joined Lang in the playoff by shooting a 5-under-par 67 Sunday.

According to John Bodenhamer, the USGA's senior managing director for rules, competitions and equipment, the USGA did not see a violation during its initial review of the footage and thus saw no need to stop play. From a betting perspective, she was one of the top options on the board along with Ko. No anger. No tears.

"During the prize presentation, I mistakenly called her by the wrong name repeatedly. So I'm proud of myself".

The City Championship, sponsored by NHC, is July 30-31 at Forest Park and is open to all male amateur players. I dont want anyone to feel sorry for me, hey I just finished 2nd in the US Open.

Ji said it helps that her caddie talks to her a lot throughout her round. "Yeah, I loved it". "And to have them here to celebrate, it's really special". You didn't snap that blasted 25-degree hybrid over your knee?

Now, golf needs to come up with a realistic way to deal with reality.

Brooke Henderson summed up her disappointing fourth round, talked about what she learned about herself throughout the weekend, how she is learning that things aren't always going to work her way and looks ahead to the Olympics.

Here is the shot in question.

They got it right, but it feels wrong. It was on display all week at CordeValle.

"Probably better than today", she said.

So, kudos again to the USGA, which skirted another potential blunder thanks to the clumsy ways it bungled the end of yet another major. "It's been a really awesome experience".

Recommande: